Web Service Cache

7 11 2007

I was working on my as3 web service package today and I decided to implement a class for caching service results. This feature is optional and it’s turned off as a default.

This feature can come in handy if you’re calling a method from a service with the same parameter(s) more than once. If it’s enabled, the cache object will store the results in an array for faster access later on, no need to send the same SOAP request again to the service.

I think using this feature is better than relying on the browser’s cache because what I’ve learned in the past is that the browser’s cache is in some cases turned off by the user.

This neat little feature will be part of my next release (soon i hope) of the web service package for actionscript 3. In the meantime, you can download my latest release from the link under “Downloads” on the right panel.

Actions

Information




